Shop and Residence

Item details

Name of item: Shop and Residence
Type of item: Built
Group/Collection: Retail and Wholesale
Category: Shop
Location: Lat: -33.8600885272 Long: 151.2083857010
Primary address: 123-125 George Street, The Rocks, NSW 2000
Parish: St Philip
County: Cumberland
Local govt. area: Sydney
Local Aboriginal Land Council: Metropolitan
Property description
Lot/Volume CodeLot/Volume NumberSection NumberPlan/Folio CodePlan/Folio Number
LOT16 DP773812
All addresses
Street AddressSuburb/townLGAParishCountyType
123-125 George StreetThe RocksSydneySt PhilipCumberlandPrimary Address

Owner/s

Organisation NameOwner CategoryDate Ownership Updated
Place Management NSWState Government 

Statement of significance:

This pair of shops and residence and site are of State heritage significance for their historical and scientific cultural values. The site and building are also of State heritage significance for their contribution to The Rocks area which is of State Heritage significance in its own right..

Numbers 123 to 125 are associated with Thomas Playfair, Mayor of Sydney in 1885. Playfair was involved in the profitable marine trade and invested in property in the local area, of which 121 George Street is one such property.

Significant aspects of the building include the architectural form and detail including the original/recreated shopfronts. Internally, the remaining original layout and other features including joinery, fireplaces and stairs etc which contribute to the significance of the pair.
Date significance updated: 31 Mar 11
Note: The State Heritage Inventory provides information about heritage items listed by local and State government agencies. The State Heritage Inventory is continually being updated by local and State agencies as new information becomes available. Read the Department of Premier and Cabinet copyright and disclaimer.

Description

Designer/Maker: Built for Thomas Playfair
Construction years: 1882-1882
Physical description: Three late Victorian two storey shops, built c. 1880 of stuccoed brick. Unusual plainly moulded Romanesque style windows of three bays to the first floor. Two of the shops retain their original shopfronts, while the third has been altered. (National Trust 1977)

No's 123 and 125 George Street are near-identical buildings, the timber shop front of 123 being new and a copy of 125 (original). No's 123 & 125 are connected internally and operate as one shop. The interior layout is original except for openings between rooms. Most ceilings are modern, original joinery generally remains. The decorative sheet metal parapet wall is a 'replica' (c1970s?) of the damaged original masonry parapet. No. 121 is an original shop front of a different type to 123 & 125

Style: Victorian Free Classical; Storeys: 2; Facade: Brick & stone walls; Roof Cladding: Corrugated iron; Floor Frame: Timber
Physical condition and/or
Archaeological potential:
Archaeology Assessment Condition: Partly disturbed. Assessment Basis: Floors level with George Street, terraced up to former level of Nurses Walk. Recent building techniques (Bakehouse Place).
Date condition updated:27 Apr 01
Current use: Shops
Former use: Aboriginal land, town lot, Shops and residence

History

Historical notes: The "Eora people" was the name given to the coastal Aborigines around Sydney. Central Sydney is therefore often referred to as "Eora Country". Within the City of Sydney local government area, the traditional owners are the Cadigal and Wangal bands of the Eora. There is no written record of the name of the language spoken and currently there are debates as whether the coastal peoples spoke a separate language "Eora" or whether this was actually a dialect of the Dharug language. Remnant bushland in places like Blackwattle Bay retain elements of traditional plant, bird and animal life, including fish and rock oysters (Anita Heiss, "Aboriginal People and Place", Barani: Indigenous History of Sydney City http://www.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au/barani).

With the invasion of the Sydney region, the Cadigal and Wangal people were decimated but there are descendants still living in Sydney today. All cities include many immigrants in their population. Aboriginal people from across the state have been attracted to suburbs such as Pyrmont, Balmain, Rozelle, Glebe and Redfern since the 1930s. Changes in government legislation in the 1960s provided freedom of movement enabling more Aboriginal people to choose to live in Sydney (Anita Heiss, "Aboriginal People and Place", Barani: Indigenous History of Sydney City http://www.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au/barani).

William Davis's tenements extended across the land granted to him in 1836. His town grant of 12 perches on October 29th, 1843 remained vacant except for houses to the rear of the property. Davis erected a shop to the George Street frontage of north corner of his 1836 Town grant in c1830. This brick walled and shingle roofed shop was added to in 1842 by a similar building to the northern side (extending into land grant of 1834) In 1845 the Sydney Municipal Rate Books described the two single storey shops as having two rooms and the northern premises boundaries being 13 feet wide and 68 feet deep (no. 123) and the other (No. 125) being 14 feet wide and 28 feet deep. Both shops were 'in bad repair' (SCRA 1978: HP/07).

The tenements to the rear of 123 were described in 1863 as 'old, ruinous and unhealthy'. Davis's will of 1843 gave J Edwards the title to property of the 1834 grant plus part of the 1836 grant. J Edwards conveyed the property to Henry Byrns in 1863. In 1870 W Hooper, a greengrocer occupied No.123 and T Barry, bootmaker occupied No.125. The shops continued as a greengrocer, J Paddon and a bootmaker, J McAuley, until September 1881 when they and the rear buildings were pulled down. Thomas Playfair purchased the properties from H Byrns and in 1882 erected two two-storey four roomed shops out of brick and stone walls and iron roof on the sites of No. 123 and 125. J Paddon continued as a fruiterer in the new shop No. 123 and C W Danielson, bootmaker in the other. Shop No. 125 became an outfitter and importer outlet in 1885. Thomas Playfair continued as landlord until the NSW Government resumed the property in 1900. (SCRA 1978: HP/07)

Archaeology notes: Hospital (See also: AR038-039; AR045; AR057-058; AR061-067; AR069-070; AR073-074; AR078-079; AR084-085; AR126; AR129; AR131-132; AR149). Granted to William Davis (See also: AM015-016; AM020-023; AR069-070; AR111-112; AR122; AR143) as 12 perches on 29 October 1834.

Historic themes

Australian theme (abbrev)New South Wales themeLocal theme
1. Environment-Tracing the evolution of a continent's special environments Environment - naturally evolved-Activities associated with the physical surroundings that support human life and influence or shape human cultures. Changing the environment-
3. Economy-Developing local, regional and national economies Agriculture-Activities relating to the cultivation and rearing of plant and animal species, usually for commercial purposes, can include aquaculture (none)-
3. Economy-Developing local, regional and national economies Commerce-Activities relating to buying, selling and exchanging goods and services Retailing-
3. Economy-Developing local, regional and national economies Environment - cultural landscape-Activities associated with the interactions between humans, human societies and the shaping of their physical surroundings Developing local, regional and national economies-National Theme 3
4. Settlement-Building settlements, towns and cities Accommodation-Activities associated with the provision of accommodation, and particular types of accommodation – does not include architectural styles – use the theme of Creative Endeavour for such activities. Building settlements, towns and cities-National Theme 4
4. Settlement-Building settlements, towns and cities Accommodation-Activities associated with the provision of accommodation, and particular types of accommodation – does not include architectural styles – use the theme of Creative Endeavour for such activities. Housing in shop-based accommodation-
4. Settlement-Building settlements, towns and cities Accommodation-Activities associated with the provision of accommodation, and particular types of accommodation – does not include architectural styles – use the theme of Creative Endeavour for such activities. A Picturesque Residential Suburb-
4. Settlement-Building settlements, towns and cities Accommodation-Activities associated with the provision of accommodation, and particular types of accommodation – does not include architectural styles – use the theme of Creative Endeavour for such activities. Terrace-

Assessment of significance

SHR Criteria a)
[Historical significance]
This pair of shops and residence and site are of State heritage significance for their historical and scientific cultural values. The site and building are also of State heritage significance for their contribution to The Rocks area which is of State Heritage significance in its own right (see item no. 4500458).

Numbers 123 to 125 George Street were built in 1882 as commercial premises as part of the business precinct lining the harbour-side of The Rocks, and are associated with the evolving pattern of urban fabric in the area.
SHR Criteria b)
[Associative significance]
Numbers 123 to 125 are associated with Thomas Playfair, Mayor of Sydney in 1885. Playfair was involved in the profitable marine trade and invested in property in the local area, of which 121 George Street is one such property.
SHR Criteria c)
[Aesthetic significance]
The buildings’ facades are fine examples of the Victorian Free Classical style, executed to give a sense of decorum to what would otherwise have been simple commercial / residential structures.
The buildings have streetscape value as two buildings in a group of three that were designed to appear as one property.
The buildings’ scale and alignment to the street are typical of that found along the business precinct of George Street in The Rocks area.
The street façades have remained relatively intact since they were constructed in 1882.
SHR Criteria d)
[Social significance]
The buildings have had a continuous commercial use since they were built in 1882. They have been used as fruit shops, ham and beef shops, smallgoods shops, a wine depot, a bookmaker’s, importers’ offices, outfitters, and, in 1933, No 123 was used by a pest extermination company.
The site retains elements of combined shops and residences, once common throughout both The Rocks and Sydney in general.
SHR Criteria e)
[Research potential]
The fabric, although somewhat modified, has the ability to yield information on the configuration of late Victorian commercial/residential buildings and aspects of the way of life of the people who inhabited them.
SHR Criteria f)
[Rarity]
The site has high potential to reveal further subsurface archaeological deposits associated with the early European occupation of the site and the surrounding area.
SHR Criteria g)
[Representativeness]
The buildings at 123 and 125 George street are expressive of the close weaving of the social fabric of The Rocks area in the nineteenth century, and demonstrate the close links between the residential and commercial activities of the community.
Integrity/Intactness: Archaeology partly disturbed.
Assessment criteria: Items are assessed against the PDF State Heritage Register (SHR) Criteria to determine the level of significance. Refer to the Listings below for the level of statutory protection.

Recommended management:

Above ground archaeological remains: An archaeological watching brief or monitoring program is recommended. Below ground archaeological remains: An historical and archaeological assessment prior to archaeological investigation is recommended. Conserve significant original features, retain original form. Reinstate the original parapet wall.

Procedures /Exemptions

Section of actDescriptionTitleCommentsAction date
57(2)Exemption to allow workStandard Exemptions ORDER UNDER SECTION 57(2) OF THE HERITAGE ACT 1977

Standard exemptions for engaging in or carrying out activities / works otherwise prohibited by section 57(1) of the Heritage Act 1977.

I, the Hon James Griffin MP, Minister for Environment and Heritage, pursuant to subsection 57(2) of the Heritage Act 1977, on the recommendation of the Heritage Council of New South Wales do by this Order, effective at the time of publication in the New South Wales Government Gazette:

1. revoke the order made on 9 November 2020 and published in the Government Gazette Number 318 of 13 November 2020; and

2. grant the exemptions from subsection 57(1) of the Heritage Act 1977 that are described in the attached Schedule.

The Hon James Griffin MP
Minister for Environment and Heritage
Signed this 2nd day of June 2022.

To view the standard exemptions for engaging in or carrying out activities / works otherwise prohibited by section 57(1) of the Heritage Act 1977 click on the link below.
Jun 17 2022

PDF Standard exemptions for engaging in or carrying out activities / works otherwise prohibited by section 57(1) of the Heritage Act 1977

Listings

Heritage ListingListing TitleListing NumberGazette DateGazette NumberGazette Page
Heritage Act - State Heritage Register 0158310 May 02 852865

Study details

TitleYearNumberAuthorInspected byGuidelines used
SCA Register 1979-19981998B056, AR068Sydney Cove Authority (SCA)  Yes

References, internet links & images

TypeAuthorYearTitleInternet Links
Tourism 2007Done Art & Design View detail
Written  Grants index.
TourismAttraction Homepage2007Done Art & Design View detail
WrittenCroker A1977National Trust Classification Card - 121-125 George Street (Part of George Street Business Precinct)
WrittenGraham Brooks and Associates Pty Ltd2006123 and 125 George Street, The Rocks, Conservation Management Plan
WrittenMaitland, Neil Colin1983George Street, The Rocks: A Streetscape Conservation Study
WrittenSCRA1978 Building Data Sheet HP/07

Note: internet links may be to web pages, documents or images.

rez rez rez rez rez
(Click on thumbnail for full size image and image details)

Data source

The information for this entry comes from the following source:
Name: Heritage NSW
Database number: 5053199


Every effort has been made to ensure that information contained in the State Heritage Inventory is correct. If you find any errors or omissions please send your comments to the Database Manager.

All information and pictures on this page are the copyright of Heritage NSW or respective copyright owners.